It just struck me recently that Asian people love this song, Way Back Into Love.  What proof do I have?  If we (Asians) didn’t like it, there wouldn’t be so many covers of the song done by our beloved idols on youtube.  Here (Korean and Chinese biased), I pulled up a few, you rate it!

Victor Wong and Fish Leong

Donghae, Kyuhyun (Super Junior) and Jessica, Taeyeon (SNSD)

Alisa Galper and Jia Ji Song (at the 0:52 second mark)

Kang Hyun Soo and Seo Jung In

Janice & Wilfred

Nichkhun(2PM) & Lee Bo Young

From Super Idol Taiwan: Kim Sul Ki and Guo Ying Jun (at the 1:47 mark)

Truthfully, I think all most of the covers sound too karaoke.  The stage is not a karaoke bar.  I believe that if an artist really desires to do a cover song, at least try to twist it up and put your own character into it.

This one (posted below) I would have to say was the best I’ve seen so far.  It’s a duet of Ivy and a guy (? don’t know his name).  Her voice is actually quiet soothing, she has a gentle warmth in her voice, not too over powering or too soft.  I’m not a big fan of the guy’s voice but his rocker quality balances out Ivy’s sweet tone.  He holds his tones at the end very beautifully too, reminds me of Shin in this performance.